I’M PRETTY SURE SHE WORE BLACK TO YOUR WEDDING…

Posted on March 15, 2009

0


i just returned from having a late lunch with my mother in law.  she really is a special lady.

i’ve considered myself part of “that” family for 10 years now and supposing i don’t fall off the planet, i don’t believe that will ever change.  she, along with my father in law, were quick to welcome me and i’d highly doubt they’d be quick to write me off, despite the circumstance with M (or shall i say – “in spite of”).

since losing my mother, i’ve felt a sense of disconnect, which i’m sure is pretty normal considering i told my mother everything – yes, everything.  and while i’d never be able to replace that relationship, and i’d never want to or even try to, it’s nice to know that my MIL is there to still be that… motherly.  i appreciate it, i’m grateful for it and i love it.  i’ve come to highly value our talks and meetings.  i hope that never changes, though i’m not so sure i’d ever need to doubt they will.

family is family, no matter the distance – physically or figuratively… and i love mine.  all of mine.

** post title – ruby, “monster in law”

Tagged:
Posted in: family stuff