BUT THANKSGIVING IS MORE THAN EATING, CHUCK. YOU HEARD WHAT LINUS WAS SAYING OUT THERE. THOSE EARLY PILGRIMS WERE THANKFUL FOR WHAT HAD HAPPENED TO THEM, AND WE SHOULD BE THANKFUL, TOO. WE SHOULD JUST BE THANKFUL FOR BEING TOGETHER. I THINK THAT’S WHAT THEY MEAN BY “THANKSGIVING”, CHARLIE BROWN…

Posted on November 26, 2009

0


in honor of the holiday that is supposed to but generally doesn’t brings thanks, i present to you, all most some ten of the people/things i am most thankful for (in no particular order)…

1.  the ability to breathe.  sometimes silently.  sometimes heavily.  sometimes rapidly.  but i breathe each day in and each day out.  b/c i can.  no matter what those days bring.  in.  and out. 

2.  silly monkey.  we’re unbreakable.  equal to none other.  he wants me when he’s happy and he wants me when he’s sad.  i am the one he asks for above all others.  i am mommy.  and he is my silly monkey.  the love and laughter between the two of us could be enough to bring world peace. 

3.  family.  i love my family.  they are the only ones who have stayed, despite me pushing them away.  they listen.  they support.  they entertain my quirks.  and why?  b/c they love me.  more specifically…

4.  mich.  my best friend.  my sister.  my movie buddy.  my pie eating companion.  my judge.  my jury.  all wrapped into one tiny little size zero package.  what i would do without her is something i’ll never be prepared to live.  the same for…

5.  J.  my bro.  my pal in silliness.  my inappropriate comment partner.  my supporter.  my helper.  my voice of reason, even if i get all worked up b/c i just must disagree.  all wrapped into one tall and tattooed package. 

6.  the korean aunts.  my mothers in disguise.  one with the hugs and sympathy.  one with the advice and wisdom.  both with more love to give than any one single person ever deserves. 

7.  my home.  MY home.  my home that i pay the mortgage on and insure.  my home that i’ve painted and decorated and stained and torn.  MY HOME.   owned by me.  to share with silly monkey.  a home.  a real home. 

8.  memories.  all of them.  good and bad.  and photos to go with 99% of those memories.  b/c if that’s all i had, i would be content.  everything else can be replaced. 

9.  freedom.  granted i was free to do as i pleased for nearly two years, it wasn’t until nov 10th that i was finally and legally unchained from a past filled with more hurt than anyone should ever have to suffer in a lifetime.  and while that past will haunt me for at least 15 more years, i’ve come to realize that it’s more mind than matter. 

10.  living.  loving.  learning.  laughing.  for which only lack of control can make more meaningful. 

thank you. 

thank you to breathing.  thank you to silly monkey.  thank you to family… thank you to mich.  thank you to J.  thank you to the aunts.  thank you to home.  thank you to memories.  thank you to freedom.  thank you to living and loving and learning and laughing. 

thank you.

** post title = marcie, a charlie brown thanksgiving, 1973

