ACTUALLY, I’VE ALWAYS HAD A RATHER EXTENSIVE VOCABULARY, NOT TO MENTION A PHENOMENAL GRASP OF GRAMMAR AND A SUPERLATIVE COMMAND OF SYNTAX. I SIMPLY CHOSE NOT TO EMPLOY THEM…

Posted on December 23, 2009

0


hi.  my name is danyelle and i am a BIT of a spelling/grammar nazi.

phew-ish. i guess that wasn’t such a difficult admittance.  i admit it.  it drives me crazy when people can’t spell.  i mean, seriously, use spell check or a dictionary or just plain ask someone if you can’t spell “stereo” (just don’t ask me b/c i had to spell “stereo” among other simple single and double syllable words for years for a man who really thought “stereo” was spelled S-T-E-R-O).  aside from the occasional correction, i won’t berate anyone about it, but i will be all annoyed  on the inside and possibly shake my head on the outside.

and it pains me that some don’t make the effort to learn the differences in using THERE, THEIR and THEY’RE.  they’re all different.  my gah, how in the world do some people get their jobs when they can’t differentiate among three very DIFFERENT words?!  see how i did that there?

i’m not perfect.  in fact, i’m perfectly imperfect.  i use run-on sentences like they’re going out of style… (wait… are they out of style?  well, crap then, what should i do with all of my breathy run-on thoughts?), but at least i always TRY and always use spell check b/c seriously, it’s right there!

and don’t even get me started on your and you’re

people have asked me how i can complain about other’s spelling/grammar when i myself don’t even bother to use proper punctuation (commas much?) or proper case on this here blog.  and how DARE i start sentences with “but” and “and”.

my answer?

my blog is a stream of silly thoughts that stream from my chaotic world out of my goobery mind.  and sometimes, those thoughts run on and on and on and on and i occasionally pause for a breath COMMA and then keep going on and on and on and on.  proper case?  nah.  it takes too long.  and i type too fast to care.  and my ands?  but my buts?  this isn’t a research paper, this is a blog…  a stream of silly thoughts that stream from my chaotic world out of my goobery mind.  and sometimes, those thoughts run on and on and on and on and i occasionally pause for a breath COMMA and then keep going on and on and on and on.

but, at the very least, i use the correct words in the proper context.  and i SPELL CHECK.  though i  do stop at pulling out the MLA handbook b/c that book just gives me a headache.

and no one can tell me i am wrong when my silly monkey is referred to as a “SHE” in court documents for which i need to scream and fuss b/c OMG, seriously, silly monkey is most certainly a HE and didn’t anyone bother to proofread!!?!  anyone?

** post title = uh huh, the little rascals

Posted in: useless stuff