PHOTO 365 – DAY 27: RUFFAGE…

Posted on April 4, 2011

0


DAY TWENTY SEVEN:  i hear the grocery store is an excellent place to meet people.  in fact, yummy michael vartan met his new bride at a whole foods store.  i don’t hold out much hope of this happening to me, considering my grocery store conversations usually go like this…

him:  wow…
me:  wow, what?
him: that’s like 10 bags of salad.
me:  eight, actually.
him:  you must like salad.
me:  i do.  and it’s on sale.  so…
him:  i’m not a big salad person.
me:  ok. 
him:  so…
me:  alright.  nice chatting.  i’m off to eat my salad.
him:  yea, nice chatting…

and then he sort of trailed off while i walked away.  my friends think perhaps i should be the one to say something and/or move the conversation in a different direction.  but what do i say?  “hey… i know you hate lettuce, but do you want to grab a salad sometime?” 

i mean, really?!  i would never approach someone if i had nothing to say.  and in this case, i had absolutely nothing to say, which totally justifies the responses i gave him b/c neither did he. 

on another note.  these are the things that make me feel old…

grrr.

